UKIP leadership: Steven Woolfe excluded from race

UKIP leadership hopeful Steven Woolfe has been ruled “ineligible” to stand in the contest to replace Nigel Farage – after he submitted his papers late.

The party’s NEC said it had voted by a “clear majority” to exclude Mr Woolfe – previously seen as the frontrunner.

The MEP said he was “extremely disappointed” by the decision, and three NEC members have quit in protest.

Jonathan Arnott, Bill Etheridge, Diane James, Lisa Duffy, Phillip Broughton and Elizabeth Jones are on the ballot.

Read on…

Ruling Ukip members resign in fury as ‘coup’ blocks leadership frontrunner Steven Woolfe from standing

Claims of “oligarchy and cronyism” flew as the MEP was barred from the race to replace Nigel Farage – because he filed papers 17 minutes late

Ukip was hurled into chaos today as three top officials resigned in protest at a “coup” which blocked the leading bid to replace Nigel Farage.

Steven Woolfe was barred from standing as leader in a dramatic vote by the party’s ruling body – because he filed his paperwork 17 minutes late.

The party said a “clear majority” of its 17-strong National Executive Committee (NEC) ruled the computer glitch should torpedo the frontrunner’s bid.

But three NEC members resigned in protest accusing their colleagues of “oligarchy, self-promotion and cronyism”.

Read on…

UKIP leadership: The contenders to succeed Nigel Farage

UKIP has announced the names of the six candidates that it says are eligible to stand in the contest to succeed outgoing leader Nigel Farage.

The process of selecting Mr Farage’s successor has been fraught with controversy after a number of leading names, most notably Steven Woolfe, were barred from standing, prompting resignations from the party’s ruling body.

But who are the candidates left in the race?

Read on…

Leave your comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.