Cllr Ian Finnie Dinnington Ward resigns

Quite unlike another Councillor we have featured recently and their non-resignation, resignation, Ian Finnie a UKIP Councillor from Dinnington has taken a more principled stance and has stood down due to changed circumstances.

From: Finnie, Ian-Cllr
To: Kemp, Sharon
Cc: Cowles, Allen-Cllr; UKIPCouncillors
Subject: Resignation

Good morning Sharon,
As from Thursday 1st of December 2016 it is with regret that I will be standing down as a borough councillor for the ward of Dinnington .
My first two years in the role were good for me, I have learned from my experience.
Alas, the loss of two of my very close brothers this year and another with serious health issues has taken its toll on me and my family.
My full time time job is also a factor and my own constant illnesses in and out of hospital are too.
The on going findings of CSE in the town is heartbreaking. Especially when some of the victims are from my ward.
I feel that I cannot give enough time to fulfil my duties expected of me.
I will not claim public money for a role that I cannot give enough time to. Although I do donate a lot of this back into my community.
Allen Cowles has been aware of my decision over the past couple of weeks.

Regards
Cllr Ian Finnie
Dinnington Ward

I have been told that a by-election will be held, most likely February.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Information and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Cllr Ian Finnie Dinnington Ward resigns

  1. Dave Smith says:

    I have to say I admire his honesty and integrity as you say unlike the other hypocrite
    Dave Smith

  2. Caven Vines says:

    Well done Ian thats why you would not have been a Labour Councillor you have integrity
    I see we are still awaiting Roddisons resignation but on Labours form I’m sure they will welcome him back and may even promote him like the ones who kept quiet after the seminar and those who were found not fit for purpose what wonderfull role models they are

  3. Colin Tawn says:

    10/10 for honesty and integrity to Ian Finnie.
    I also echo the other comments from previous posters.

  4. Pingback: The Week That Was – Last Weeks Top Ten 10th December 2016 | Rotherham Politics

  5. Dave Earp says:

    It seems not everyone appreciates the honesty & integrity of Mr Finnie.

    https://order-order.com/2017/01/16/labour-mps-ukip-attack-gaffe/#disqus_thread

  6. Pingback: The Week That Was – Last Weeks Top Ten 21st January 2017 | Rotherham Politics

Leave your comment

