A manifesto for the next Labour Leadership battle?


Does this intervention from MP Dan Jarvis, indicate a political platform he might be running on for the next Labour Leadership contest? Trouble is this is the New/Blue Labour way of looking at things, in a party that is about … Continue reading

Shaun Wrights Supporters – Any Regrets?

Dear Rotherham Politics readers,

Just been having a decko at the webpage of our hapless Laybah SY PCC candidate to see if he’s mentioning the unmentionable that’s lately descended on dear old Rovrum.


Guess what? Not a sausage. Not a skerritt. Nope not a word, sentence, full point or comma. Well no surprise there then.

I wonder how many of these supposed Laybah lovey-dovey muckers who haplessly pledged their support would sign his sheet now?

In a Joint statement of endorsement the following said: “As a lifelong South Yorkshire resident with over 25 years service to the community in the roles of: councillor, magistrate, police authority vice chair, union representative, school governor and charity trustee Shaun is in touch with ordinary people, he has the necessary skills, experience and integrity to serve you and he has a genuine empathy for the issues facing our communities – we hope you will give Shaun your support on the 15th of November.”

Ed Miliband MP – Doncaster North Constituency and Leader of the Labour Party
Rosie Winterton MP – Doncaster Central Constituency
Caroline Flint MP – Don Valley Constituency
John Healey MP – Wentworth & Dearne Constituency
Denis MacShane MP – Rotherham Constituency
Kevin Barron MP – Rother Valley Constituency
Dan Jarvis MP – Barnsley Central Constituency
Michael Dugher MP – Barnsley East Constituency
Angela Smith MP – Penistone & Stocksbridge Constituency
David Blunkett MP – Sheffield Brightside & Hillsborough Constituency
Clive Betts MP – Sheffield South East Constituency
Megg Munn MP – Sheffield Heeley Constituency
Paul Blomfield MP – Sheffield Central Constituency
Cllr Steve Houghton CBE – Leader Barnsley Council
Cllr Roger Stone OBE – Leader Rotherham Council
Cllr Julie Dore – Leader Sheffield Council
Cllr Glyn Jones – Leader Doncaster Majority Group
John Cafferty – UNISON Regional Secretary
Karen Reay – UNITE Regional Secretary
Joe Mann MBE – Community The Union Deputy General Secretary
Ann Gallagher – GMB Branch Secretary

OMG, I bet they feel had just like the police officer who was snapped signing some form or other for Shaun Da Sheep. Ever been suckered?

Mind how ya go.